One of Canada’s best known national award recognizing outstanding achievements by Canadian creators in the creation and publication of comic books and graphic novels returns in 2008 for it’s fourth year: the JOE SHUSTER CANADIAN COMIC BOOK CREATOR AWARDS, named after pioneering Toronto-born artist Joe Shuster who, along with writer Jerry Siegel, created the iconic super-powered hero, Superman. From coast to coast, Canada is home to many of the comic    
book industry’s top talents. The JOE SHUSTER AWARDS are a way of recognizing and celebrating the achievements of Canadian creators – past, present and future. : Nominees were selected by a two round voting process. Now that the list of nominees has been finalized, the nominated creators will have their work reviewed by a jury, who will ultimately decide which of the nominated creators will receive a Joe Shuster Award. In previous years winners were selected by a public vote. Between now and the end of May, fans can vote for the following categories online at FAVOURITE CANADIAN COMIC BOOK CREATOR – ENGLISH LANGUAGE – -FAVOURITE CANADIAN COMIC BOOK CREATOR – FRENCH LANGUAGE – -FAVOURITE INTERNATIONAL (NON-CANADIAN) COMIC BOOK CREATOR Winners will be announced at a public ceremony on June 14th in Toronto. The awards will be the final event at the Sequential Art Symposium to be held in the auditorium of the Toronto Public Library’s Lillian Smith branch on College Street on Saturday, June 14. The Symposium will feature talks related to comics and the 70th anniversary of the Superman character created by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, as well as a Superman-themed art exhibit entitled “Visions of an Icon” featuring work by Canadian comic book artists. Guests for the symposium include Darwyn Cooke, Tom Grummett, J. Torres, Ty Templeton and more creators to be announced. All nominees are invited to attend and participate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.